Future Islands

When “Back in the Tall Grass” comes on, I think of you
Of being lifted above a massive sea of people in the bright blistering sun
& of the nights we drank and danced without thinking
Where Simplicity was a Priority
& Instant Gratification outweighed the consequences

When “A Song for Our Grandfathers” comes on, I also think of you & of my last night here
& I feel incredible Guilt
I want to apologize
But I also want to grab your shoulders and scream

You didn’t know when or how to take care of me
You didn’t understand me & when to give me space
You excited me but you also frustrated the hell out of me
I may have been hot & cold with you but you gave me every reason to

I know you cared and I did too
But I don’t think either of us knew
How to handle each other past the instant gratification
& into the lasting sensations

Leave a Reply

